Skip til primært indhold

Research - for English speakers

Læs mere herunder

The Executive Board at Hospital South West Jutland, University hospital of Southern Denmark, has the overall responsibility for the research conducted in the hospital. The CMO represents the Executive Board in the hospital’s Research Strategy Board, and together with the Head of the Research Centre they represent the hospital in the region’s Research Strategy Board. 

The Hospital South West Jutland, University hospital of Southern Denmark, collaborates closely with the Department of Regional Health Research (IRS) at the University of Southern Denmark (SDU) in conducting high quality research. The Head of IRS is a member of the hospital’s Research Strategy Board. Get in touch with the Management of Research:

Research Groups or Areas

The research conducted between Hospital South West Jutland and University of Southern Denmark is directly linked to the clinics, which creates an ideal framework for translational research resulting in improved patient care. There are many different research units, groups and academic staff conducting research in their own medical or surgical specialities, or health specific areas. For more information regarding the individual research areas, publications, possibility to collaborate, please see the details below.

Get in touch with our researchers via our respective Research Leads in the following areas:

- Links will be updated as fast as possible. Not currently available!

  • Thrombosis - Research Unit
  • Acute Medicine - Research Unit
  • Gastroenterology - Research Group
  • Maxillofacial Surgery - Research Group
  • Cardiology - Research Group
  • Health Sciences - Research Group
  • Occupational Medicine - Research Group
  • Endocrinology: Bariatrics and Diabetes - Research Group
  • Endocrinology: Osteoporosis and Calcium Metabolism - Research Group
  • Orthopaedic Surgery - Research Group
  • Otorhinolaryngology - Research Group
  • Operational Research
  • Radiology and Nuclear Medicine - Research Group
  • You can find a list of our current PhD projects here.

If you wish to learn a bit about the organisation of the Danish Health Care System, please find a brief explanation here.

If you have any questions regarding the above please contact Research Support via mail SVS-forskning@rsyd.dk.

Contact information

Academic Staff Members

Management of Research 

Anna-Marie Bloch Münster
Chief Medical Officer (CMO)
Hospital of South West Jutland
Anna-Marie.Bloch.Munster@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2462

Rikke Leth-Larsen
Head of Department of Regional Health
University of Southern Denmark
RLLarsen@health.sdu.dk 
Tel. +45 6550 3913

Torben Knudsen
Head of Research Centre
Hospital of South West Jutland
Torben.Knudsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 3145

Academic Staff Members

Research Lead

Else Bladbjerg
Associate Professor, MSc, PhD
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts-
Clinical Biochemistry
Else.Bladbjerg@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2423

Associate Professor

Anna-Marie Bloch Münster
Associate Professor, PhD.
Anna-Marie.Bloch.Munster@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2462

Professor

Jørgen Brodersen Gram
Professor, DMSc
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry and Immunology
Joergen.Gram@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2411

Associate Professor

Johannes Sidelmann
Associate Professor, MSc, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Johannes.Sidelmann@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2415

Consultant

Vakur Bor
Consultant, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Vakur.Bor@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2440

Senior Researcher

Yaseelan Palarasah
Senior Researcher, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Yaseelan.Palarasah@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 3681

Technician

Anette Larsen
Technician
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Anette.Larsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2426

Technician

Kathrine Overgaard 
Technician
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Kathrine.Overgaard@rsyd.dk    
Tel. +45 7918 2426

Technician

Gunhild Brixen Nielsen
Technician
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Gunhild.Brixen.Nielsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 2426

Technician

Lars Chr. Nielsen
Technician
Department of Clinical Diagnosticts -
Clinical Biochemistry
Lars.Chr.Nielsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 7918 5639

Research Assistent

Anne Cathrine Meldgaard Godtfredsen
Ph.d. student, Department of Regional Health Research, University of Southern Denmark
Anne.Cathrine.Meldgaard.Godtfredsen@rsyd.dk 
Tlf. 7918 2747

PhD student

Line Espenhain Langrebe
Ph.d. student, Department of Regional Health Research, University of Southern Denmark
Line.Espenhain.Langrebe@rsyd.dk 
Tlf. 7918 2473

PhD student

Morten Lee Halling
PhD student, Department of Regional Health Research, University of Southern Denmark
Morten.Halling@rsyd.dk 

PhD student

Nicoline Ostermann Lorenzen
PhD studerende, Department of Regional Health Research, University of Southern Denmark
Nicoline.Ostermann.Lorenzen@rsyd.dk 

Research secretary

Lena Maria Just Carlsen
Department of Clinical Diagnostics - Clinical Biochemistry
Lena.Maria.Just.Carlsen@rsyd.dk 

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Mikkel Brabrand
Clinical Professor, PhD.
Consultant, Department of Acute and Emergency
Mikkel.Brabrand@rsyd.dk 
Tel. +45 4073 6373

Colin Graham
Adjunct Professor
Acute Medicine, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Peter Hallas
Adjunct Associate Professor
Consultant, Rigshospitalet, Denmark

John Kellett
Adjunct Associate Professor
Consultant, Nenagh County Hospital, Irland

Academic Staff Members

Research Lead

Torben Knudsen
Associate Professor, DMSc., PhD.
Lead Consultant, Medical Department
Torben.Knudsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 3145

Researcher

Mette Munk Lauridsen
PhD, Post.doc.
Registrar, Gastroenterology Department
Mette.Enok.Munk.Lauridsen@rsyd.dk
Tel. +45 7918 2316

Academic Staff Members 

Research lead

Else Marie Pinholt
Professor, DDSc.
Department of Maxillofacial Surgery 
Else.Marie.Pinholt@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 2126

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Niels Peter Sand
Associate Professor, PhD.
Consultant, Department of Cardiology 
Niels.Peter.Ronnow.Sand@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 3525

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Bibi Valgerdur Gram
Associate Professor, PhD.
Research Unit of Health Science
Department of Regional Health Research
Bibi.Valgerdur.Gram@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 2356

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Lars Rauff Skadhauge
Associate Professor, PhD.
Consultant, Department of Occupational Medicine 
Lars.Rauff.Skadhauge@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 3565

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Stinus Hansen
Associate Professor, PhD.
Consultant, Department of Endocrinology 
Stinus.Gadegaard.Hansen@rsyd.dk    

Academic Staff Members

Research lead

Claus Bogh Juhl
Associate Professor, PhD.
Consultant, Department of Endocrinology 
Claus.Juhl@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 3120

Academic Staff Members

Associate Professor

Knud Larsen
Associate Professor
Consultant - Department of Ear, Nose and Throat
Knud.Larsen@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: 7918 2773

Academic Staff Members

Associate Professor

Troels Martin Range
Associate Professor, MSc, PhD.
Department of Regional Health Research
Troels.Martin.Range@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: + 45 2012 8140

Academic Staff Members

Associate Professor

Søren Hess
Associate Professor
Consultant, Department of Radiology and
Nuclear Medicine
Soeren.Hess@rsyd.dk 
Tel.: +45 7918 2466

The Danish Health Care System has a Ministry of Health to oversee the national level of health care, Danske Regioner with its five regions to oversee the regional level of health care and 98 municipalities to oversee the local level of health care.

The Region of Southern Denmark

  • Around 21.000 people are employed in the field of healthcare in the Region of Southern Denmark
  • The annual healthcare budget totals DKK 22.6 billion, of which more than 80 per cent is financed by the Government
  • The remaining part is financed by local authorities in terms of fixed basic fees and other activity dependent payments.

See an image here.

In the Region of Southern Denmark there are four main hospital units

  • Odense University Hospital (located in Odense)
  • Hospital of Little Belt (located in Kolding)
  • Hospital of South West Jutland (located in Esbjerg)
  • Hospital of South Jutland (located in Aabenraa)

The Hospital of South West Jutland – Sydvestjysk Sygehus – is the largest hospital in South West Denmark, employs approximately 2700 employees and is one of four emergency hospitals in the Region of Southern Denmark. The hospital receives patients from six municipalities (Esbjerg, Varde, Billund, Fanø, Vejen and partly Tønder). The Emergency Department and main functions are located in Esbjerg. Elective surgery and outpatient clinics are situated in Grindsted, and the Vein Surgery Clinic for the entire region is located in Brørup.

APPFWU02V